Breakfast Empanadas and Getting Married

Not the most appealing photo I know, but I have 10 minutes until I have to leave for work, so you will look at this breakfast empanada picture AND YOU WILL LIKE IT.

image

My friend mrs. super-awesome likes telling stories on me, especially my “wake and bake” tendencies and no I’m not talking about pot. I am not a good sleeper, never have been, so once my six hours is up I pop out of bed, ready to run, bike, or if I’m feeling nasty, make breakfast. Today I was trying to get rid of some oldish flour (we get mealy worms if it lays around to long) and a lot of crap in the fridge- specifically some vegetables, ground turkey and 3 eggs of dubious provenance, but surprise! I boiled them and they turned out great. We also had some great olives leftover from a party last night, so it all got sautéed with some garlic and onions in the fry pan. The resulting mix was a little dry, so I threw in a couple of spoonfuls of gazpacho that was kindly given to us by our friend Mary Adams. That and few teaspoons of hot sauce made it perfect.

I used my regular pie dough recipe from America’s Test Kitchen, but doubled the salt and halved the sugar. I made the double crust recipe and plenty of filling, and froze half the crust and the leftover filling for an easy breakfast sometime down the road. If you were thinking of coming to DC for a visit, now’s the time! Trust me, between our collection of DVRed “Bones” episodes and the empanadas, you want to be our houseguest.

If you were also thinking, “that is the kind of woman I’d like to marry,” well you’re going to have to get in line. After 3 years of biking, feral cats, and brain surgery Eric is going to make an honest woman out of me. Technically, I am not engaged as there has been no formal “rose ceremony” ala The Bachelor but we are planning on getting married late this year. 2011 was a tough one and we are looking forward to starting out 2012 on the right foot, so the tentative plan is to do it on New Year’s Eve.

Speaking of big parties, weddings are totally ridiculous, as are a lot of people who are involved with them. I went dress shopping after a 25 mile bike ride (I showered!) and couldn’t really reconcile the usual sweaty, grimy me with this person ensconced in chiffon, being fawned over by underpaid yet over enthusiastic lackeys. They hand you jewels and flowers and spin you around and you’re supposed to think “wow” but if you’re like me you think “weird.”  May I recommend Shannon at J. Crew bridal salon though? That girl is smart, funny, and knows how to keep it real.  She left to get some water and when she came back I had put on ALL the necklaces, “HOW YOU LIKE ME NOW?” I can’t help it, it’s like going into a fancy bathroom where there’s complimentary hairspray and gel and other amenities, there is no way I’m walking out of there without a Winehouse (RIP) style beehive. Shannon caught the vibe and did not talk to me about “my big day” or any BS except to remark that dead of winter sounded like a great time to get married.  I totally agree! She did a great job picking dresses that would more or less present as “tattoo free,” so, A+ Shannon. Still I looked pretty awesome, like a real live girl.

One question that is plaguing all of your hearts and minds is WHAT ABOUT A RING? You know you care: I am getting one made by this lady, because I’m so goth. Not sure what it will look like but here’s a ball park:

Corresponding with her has been a dream come true. Other sellers I tried to contact on Etsy were unresponsive. That’s no way to run a business, KyleAnnMetals of Santa Barbara! I hate to give negative feedback on the actual Etsy site because you never know, technology isn’t perfect, also someone could be going through a bad time and I am loathe to make it worse. Here on my blog of course, it is trash talk city. But, Eric and I work hard for our money and it makes us feel good to give it to an independent business lady who makes time for clients. Not to mention, she works out of NYC so any tax we pay goes to a state that allows the gays to marry! Take that, Santa Barbara.

Eventually, there will be a honeymoon, and if all goes well it’s going to be bada$$. Two people, four wheels, 8 panniers and 390 miles between Berlin and Copenhagen on our bikes. I love vacations where carbing isn’t so much of an indulgence as a necessity. That will all take place sometime in the spring or early summer. Wish us good luck and good weather.

Any other exciting details? Not really, except that we’re excited, love each other and our families, and are looking forward to uniting like Wondertwins. Also, to finessing the ridiculous Human Resources situations we were in last year with ease. I cannot say this enough: support marriage equality. I wouldn’t have gotten married anywhere without it. GO DC! Please, if you are getting married in a state that doesn’t allow for same sex marriage consider making a donation to an organization that supports equality. There are many but Lambda Legal is a safe bet. Advocating for sick and bereavement leave without solid marital status is a nightmare, dealing with doctors and hospitals is no picnic either.  I can’t comment on it here but trust me, defending your relationship to strangers is heartbreaking, particularly in situations when you are already under stress. People who love each other do not deserve scrutiny and judgment at any time, but particularly in time of need. It’s hard to imagine why any homophobic people would be reading this blog, but you never know, so in short: whatever you think of homosexuality, it’s no skin off your back to be compassionate, honestly.

Good marriages are like good debt ceiling negotiations: made of compromise. Eric only let me write this half assed announcement after I promised to take back the mean things I said about the “film” NAVY SEALS “starring” Charlie Sheen and weirdly, Titus Welliver of Deadwood (though TW would probably punch me in the face for mentioning it). I DON’T KNOW WHY, NAVY SEALS IS SUCH A GREAT MOVIE, ESPECIALLY HOW THEY MADE THE SOUNDTRACK EXACTLY LIKE TOP GUN AND THE PLOT INCLUDES A FAKE GOOSE DEATH DRAMA.

This entry was posted in "relationship advice", home life, yums and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

