amazing discoveries: goth baby names,Taratibu Youth Association, Pearl Dive

There are far more websites for goth baby names than you might expect considering that many goths seem to consider themselves asexual, or are just too despondent to get it on consistently. But it actually makes a lot of sense. Babies are teeny tiny screaming dark overlords, so you may as well name them something appropriately scary like Alaric or Tristessa.

Goth Baby Names

More Goth Baby Names

In case you are wondering, I am not pregnant! But if I was, you’d better believe  my kid would be named something goth. My favorite from those lists for a girl was Diamanda (see below), my least favorite was Sangria.  Sangria might mean something really weird or sad (update: “bleeding!”) but it just sounds like something you’d name a baby conceived in a wild night in Myrtle Beach. It doesn’t get any less goth than that. For boys, it’s tougher, because it’s hard to imagine me having a son for some reason, but my favorite is Mordred, just to make it clear that we mean (dark) business, and least favorite is “Vance,” because of the Dukes of Hazzards’ sad sad stand ins of Season 5, Coy and Vance.

WHO ARE YOU

Diamanda Galas is a crazy bad a** and I would love to have a daughter just like her. Chances are if I have a kid, she’ll turn out to be smug and boring little jerk like Stephanie Tanner on Full House (HOW RUDE) but, excelsior!

my worst nightmare

Meanwhile, we had a big weekend! I went to the Tacklebox “kid happy hour” in Cleveland Park with my sister and nephew (do not recommend! weird scene there), the Georgetown SFU game (go Hoyas), and African American History Month “Family Day” at the American Art Museum. The Smithsonian usually put together a pretty good spread, and this was no exception. But the best part of Family Day was seeing the Taratibu Youth Association perform songs and dances. They sang in Zulu & Swahili! And stole our hearts. They were so incredible. I said to Laura, “if one of those girls were my daughter, I’d be losing it, crying.” Maybe we did cry, a little. Anyway, I stole a picture from their website! I’m sorry. But it was just too beautiful not to. Those young ladies had a lot going on for themselves.

Later, Eric and I mixed it up with the Capital Bikeshare Folks at their somewhat belated but much needed holiday party. If you were at the Pharmacy Bar on Saturday night and some stranger came up to you with a plate of cake, that was me, my husband, or my friend Mrs. Super Awesome. Email me for the recipe if you liked it!

I usually make breakfast on the weekend, but this Sunday we didn’t feel like doing any dishes at all, so we walked down the street to Pearl Dive. There was a bit of a wait and the servings of food are normal sized (which is usually what I want, but not that day) but it’s a nice place, with a sculpture that looks like a sea beast made of chains. I told Eric I’d be too afraid of it coming alive and whipping us all to death to ever work there comfortably, but a short brunch is fine.

RELEASE THE CRACKEN

There’s also an oyster trivia game printed on a standard deck of cards which is a good thing, as I’m much better at oyster trivia than I am even at children’s games like “Go Fish.”

PSA: They were advertising an all you can eat/drink crawdad boil on February 20th from 2-4 pm. I don’t think I’ll take that bet, but thought I’d throw it out there.

It’s warm enough outside that our arugula has sprouted. Time for some salads! Have a good week everyone.

This entry was posted in music, yums and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to amazing discoveries: goth baby names,Taratibu Youth Association, Pearl Dive

  1. Irene says:

    Crap. I’m very indecisive about baby names these days, but if my little girl winds up with a name like Adrastea Pagan you’ll know it’s thanks to your blog post.

    Miss you!

  2. Thanks so much for your kind words! We really appreciate everyone who comes to see us perform! If you would like to learn more about us or attend one of our performances, please visit us at http://www.facebook.com/TaratibuYouthAssociation!
    Thanks again from everybody at Taratibu Youth Association!

Leave a Reply

